In pursuit of SCIENCE!

the hand-written words just me and my handbasket

So, I’m writing a novel (badly), trying to do the Nanowrimo thing and write a steady amount every day (the current goal is 1000 words-per-day, actually more, because I’m about 4000 behind arg). I call it “the Spacefic”, and I’m writing it because no matter how ridiculous it could be, it’s in my head and wants to get out.

I’ve already resigned myself to the idea that the science isn’t going to make a thimble’s worth of sense, but I was looking up some stuff today just to see how badly I’m doing to be butchering possibilities, and HOLY SHIT I’m not that far out.

There’s a genre of fanfiction called “omega’verse.” The Spacefic falls under the category, though I’m trying to get away from a lot of the terminology just because it creates certain expectations (mainly LOTS AND LOTS of biologically questionable sex) that I don’t necessarily want to be trapped into. I’m really here for the social-sexual commentary. Isn’t THAT ridiculous?

Anyway, here’s the most compact thesis statement for my world/species/the crux-of-what-makes-them-different-from-you-and-me, as lifted from <a href=”http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pheromone#Evolution”>the Wikipedia article about Pheromones</a>:

Pheromones have evolved in all animal phyla, to signal sex and dominance status, and are responsible for stereotypical social and sexual behaviour among members of the same species.

My aliens (they don’t even have a name yet) are a biochemically driven species that actually managed to achieve space travel. They’re pretty cool, and really bloody messed up all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

