Music Monday: A Month From Now/Whatever You Like by Rail Yard Ghosts

Better late than never, right? Welcome to Music Monday. Today, A Month From Now/Whatever You Like by the Rail Yard Ghosts. I’ve been existing lately with songs stuck in my head, but like metonyms I really only retain a single line that, for good or ill represents the entire song for me. Today’s reminds me of the commoditization of the human person.

Warnings: for profanity.

I really like this song, or at least this version of it. It’s catchy, fun to sing, and definitely gets caught in my head. But I’ve had a lot of conversations lately about the commoditization of the human person. Do we treat each other as the precious individuals, the persons that we are, or do we look at other human beings and see a tool to a purpose. Is that purpose our pleasure, satisfaction, or betterment and are the people we use easily discarded afterward?

I see that goodness in you, but I’m not fuckin’ with it
If you told me that a month from now that I would know your name,
you would be insane, Yeah

My faith background says we should look at each person and see the lovingly created child or creature of God that they are. That’s hard to do many days with many people. But worth it. Because isn’t that what we want for ourselves? To be seen as individuals who are also worth it.

I hope so, because each of us deserves that.

Leave a Reply

